The Past is Prologue, Man

Alden Olmsted
15 min readApr 27, 2024

Chapter 11 of my Indie-Film Journal A Virus Ate My Movie!

It’s not the last chapter but in real time I’m writing this last.

The rest of the book is done. All chapters in.

This remains.

I wonder if subconsciously I’ve pushed this part off because it’s the deepest emotionally.

Let’s do a quick recap:

  • Sept. 2018: Filming begins
  • Awesome contacts from Ken in Felton led to interviews I didn’t expect.
  • Christmas: A great trailer!
  • January: An ill-advised crowdfunding campaign at least yields an associate producer.
  • Also in January, a new job and a new apartment.
  • February: Riding with and meeting Martin, Eddie and the guys at HB.
  • March: Laid off.
  • March: Finally get to interview Bob Haro.
  • Eight bikes total and a new wrinkle via Rich Bartlett and Shag.
  • April: Head to Daytona Beach 100% on faith.

--

--

Alden Olmsted

I was born in a small town in Northern California just another latch-key kid obsessed with BMX and Tom Petty. Now I make films and travel and write when I can.